An Adventure A Day

Because "life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" – Helen Keller

 liebster-award

 

I was quite surprised and pleased to receive a nomination for the Liebster award from fellow blogger Alexa Lardieri. Thanks so much Alexa! You should definitely stop over and check out her blog. Alexa’s blog, Alexa Lardieri, A Journalism major’s early work, is a great mix of her published work as well as personal stories about a recent semester in Italy.

Participating in this peer driven award chain provides an opportunity for me to share a few of my favorite blogs with you. It’s an opportunity to connect some new readers to some new favorite blogs. It was also truly an honor to learn that someone appreciated my writing enough to consider it worth recommending to their readers.

I’ve seen this award around the blogosphere, and it appears to have several variations. The basic idea is that a blog with a smaller audience (the numbers range anywhere from 200 – 1,000) is tagged, and asked to answer a set number of questions (anywhere from 5 – 11), then they nominate (again from 5 – 11) bloggers, and give them the same number of questions to answer.

Here are the guidelines provided to me:

• Thank the blogger who gave it to you and give them a shout-out – thanks again Alexa
• Answer the 11 questions they asked you
• Nominate 11 bloggers with less than 500 followers
• Ask those bloggers 11 questions
• Let the bloggers know they have been nominated so they can continue the chain!!

Here are the questions I was asked to answer:

1. What is your favorite way to spend a rainy afternoon?

I love rainy days, if it’s not too cold, or a torrential downpour, I can probably be found outdoors. If it’s too cold and rainy
for me, I’d like to spend the afternoon lost in a book, but realistically, I’m more likely to be found entertaining the children and doing chores around the house.

2. Dog or cat?

Cat. Although at our house, we have a cat that believes he’s a dog – we may have the best of both worlds.

3. Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall?

When I was growing up in Upstate New York, I would say without a doubt that it was fall. There is something magical about the time of year when days turn colder and the hills turn vibrant shades of red, yellow and orange. However, after 4 years here in Germany, I have to say that I love watching the German gardens come alive in the spring. Bursts of color seem to appear everywhere overnight, and suddenly everything is alive again.

4. What is your favorite quote?

My favorite quote is a simple one from Walt Whitman: “Be curious, not judgmental”. I think this is a great way to live your life, acknowledge that there are differences, but leave yourself open to explore them and learn about them rather than criticize and judge them.

5. What is your favorite place you have travelled to and why?

That’s a really difficult question to answer, there are so many places that I’ve travelled to and simply fallen in love with! If I have to pick a favorite, I’m going to have to say Prague. Prague was our very first trip outside of Germany, and it is such a magical city. The people are really friendly, the views are spectacular, and since I had studied Central and Eastern Europe as an undergraduate, Wenceslas Square, the Pinkas Synagogue, and the church of Ss. Cyril and Methodius were especially powerful places to see in person.

6. What has been your biggest obstacle to overcome?

The biggest obstacle for me has been learning to balance all of the things that I want to do and all of the things that I have to do. Some days I still have trouble with that one!

7. What is your favorite song to have a 30 second dance party to?

Probably Je veux te voir by Yelle

8. Do you have a life motto? What is it?

I do, and I’ve tried to incorporate it into my blog – It’s a take on something Eleanor Roosevelt said, “do one thing every day that scares”. My blog is called “An Adventure A Day” in part because I make an effort to do one new thing, every day. Trying something new is always a bit scary, but each time you do it, the size of your comfort zone expands just a little, paving the way for you to try something even bigger. Whether it’s trying a new food, taking a new walking route, or talking to a new person, as long as it’s new, the size of it is irrelevant.

9. What’s your favorite and least favorite thing about yourself?

I think it’s probably the same thing. I am endlessly curious, and I want to know about everything. It’s great, because I’m never bored, but it’s hard because I can sometimes find it difficult to focus on one thing!

10. What do you like about blogging?

I’ve always loved to write. I used to write stories for myself when I was a little girl. My favorite job was working for a newspaper, but I didn’t always enjoy every topic that I was assigned to write about. Blogging gives me the freedom to write the things I enjoy writing about.

I am also enjoying travelling a second time as I write about the places we’ve been, preserving some of the treasured memories that we’ve made exploring the world. My children started exploring so young, and I want to make sure they can look back and remember through these stories. I also like that it gives me a place to focus my research interests, and offer unsolicited advice to anyone who is looking for it.

11. Where do you see yourself 10 years from today?

With any luck, we won’t be moving anymore, but I’ll still be traveling!

It was difficult to narrow down the nominations to just 11, there are so many great blogs that I read every day, but here are the 11 I chose to show my appreciation to with a nomination:

Deliciously Doing Nothing, Family travel the introvert way – The travel adventures of an Amsterdam based family

Erlangen Expat – Tips and advice from a British Expat in Germany

Loving Language, Learning languages and connecting with others – A linguistic blog offering fantastic insight into  the how and why of language learning

Heather goes to Deutschland, An expats adventures in Germany and beyond

Culturally Discombobulated – Observations of British Expat in America

Married to Italy, Big city Texan girl meets small town Italian boy. Chaos ensues. – The life of an American Expat in Italy

Go & Do by Casandra Toney – A travel blog and reflections on studying in China

Tomboy Travels, the adventures of a habitual traveler – Travel adventures from California and beyond

Aliens at Home, Discovering the Third Culture Kid – Reflections and discoveries about TCKs from a TCK

Your Essential Guide To El Camino De Santiago – A British Expat from Prague traveling the El Camino De Santiago.

ATurner – Everyday experiences from a German who moved back to Germany after several years away. Entries are in German and English which is fabulous!

Please take a moment and check them out too!

My 11 questions for them are:

1. What inspired you to begin your blog?
2. What message do you hope to convey to people reading your blog?
3. Of all of the blog posts you’ve written, which is your favorite and why?
4. Where do you find the inspiration for your posts?
5. Where in the world feels most like home to you, and why?
6. Do you have a dream adventure, what is it?
7. What book(s) are you reading, have you most recently read, or plan to read?
8. What is your favorite place to visit, and why?
9. Is there something you never leave home without, what is it and why?
10. What is the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?
11. What was the best meal you’ve ever eaten, and where was it?

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “The Liebster

  1. Quan says:

    Thanks so much for the nomination! I really appreciate it and am looking forward to participating!

    Like

    1. You’re so very welcome, I’ve really enjoyed reading your adventures!

      Like

  2. heatherinde says:

    Thanks again for the nom. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog so far, and look forward to more!

    Like

    1. You are most welcome, and thank you for your kinds words!

      Like

  3. Thanks for the nomination, sending you some love right back, love your blog!

    Like

    1. You are so very welcome, I always get so much great information from you! Thank you so much for your kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

