An Adventure A Day

Because "life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" – Helen Keller

If you read many articles dealing with TCK’s – Third Culture Kids, you’ve probably come across the name Tayo Rockson. Tayo  calls himself a TCK on a mission, and what a mission it is!

I want to bring East and West together and have them sit side by side with North and South to trade stories of adventures and experiences they each have had.

 

I want…
to replace discrimination with appreciation and introduce it to connection
to celebrate uniqueness and encourage diversity
to build global mindsets
to tell stories about culture and most importantly
to educate the world about the beauty in all of us and how we can work together to improve our global identities
I WANT TO USE MY DIFFERENCE TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE

You can find out more about Tayo on his blog, but one of the ways Tayo is using his difference to make a difference is with the online magazine Use Your Difference, which he launched with this in mind:

My experience having grown up in four different continents and five different countries has only served to emphasize how much our world has to offer so with this magazine I hope

to replace discrimination with appreciation and introduce it to connection
to celebrate uniqueness and encourage diversity
to tell stories about culture and most importantly
to educate the world about the beauty in all of us and how we can work together to improve our global identities

Now those are fantastic missions, aren’t they? So when Tayo asked me if I would consider sharing a travel tale with his magazine, I was thrilled and honored to be a part of such a lofty undertaking!

For my contribution, I went back to my first year in Germany, to a celebration I absolutely fell in love with – Fasching. Before we lived in Germany, I had never heard of it, and in that first year, at least initially, I wasn’t sure what to make of it. Now, it is one of the most treasured memories of our life  in Deutschland. Of all the festivals in Germany, I love Fasching the most. It was during that first Fasching, that I really came to feel at home in Germany. You can read about my Fasching experience and  “How I Accidentally Joined a Parade and Helped Burn a Witch” in the Culture section of Use Your Difference.

3 thoughts on “My guest appearance in Use Your Difference Magazine

  1. storki says:

    Well done you – great read. I remember Fasching – it was a great time when we were children and just as much fun as an adult.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, I truly appreciate it!
      Of all of the Fests I’ve experienced, nothing comes close to Fasching. The first town we lived in really did it right, and just about everyone in the town was out celebrating at some point over the weekend – or for the whole weekend 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

