An Adventure A Day

Because "life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" – Helen Keller

Friday Photos: Express Yourself

January 30, 2015


The WordPress Photo Challenge for this week is Express Yourself. You’ll find many examples of Expression there.

For my interpretation on this theme, I thought this would be the perfect time to start digging through some of my pictures from the fifth season. Not familiar with the fifth season?  I was only introduced to this season recently myself. I was of course acquainted with Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter, but the Fifth Season?  When my German friends first introduced me to the concept of an additional season known only in Germany, I thought they were pulling my leg. They weren’t. They were talking about Fasching, also known as Fastnacht, Fasnet, or Karneval, depending on where you are celebrating it. People frequently ask me when is the best time to visit Germany, and while I love all of the seasons in Germany, I always recommend Fasching. This is one of the most uniquely German experiences I have had. It is in turns, varied, traditional, modern, and fun. The celebrations change from town to town and differ between regions. I am told that the parades in the North are political in nature, descended from a long satirical tradition. The parades in Southern Germany are all about the masks, the music, the noise, and the witches. Lots and lots of witches. I’ll be writing more about my favorite Fasching memories, but here are some pictures to introduce you to the Fifth Season.

 

6 thoughts on “Friday Photos: Express Yourself

  1. bavariansojourn says:

    We don’t seem to have many Fasching parades down this way, but Fasching is raucous, especially in the Viktualienmarkt – great fun! 😀 The masks really remind me of the 450 Krampus’s I met just before Christmas! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was sorry to have missed the Krampuslauf this past Christmas, I imagine it would have been a lot of fun! If you have a chance to attend any of the Fasching parades, I absolutely recommend them. They are just so much fun! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    These are fabulous photos! I have never heard of this or seen any posts on it. Wow a photography treasure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I had never heard of it myself before I moved here. It seems mostly overshadowed by Oktoberfest in Germany and the more well known Carnivals celebrated elsewhere. It was a big surprise to find Halloween costumes on sale in February during our first year, but after we participated in one Fasching season, we were hooked.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Stacey says:

    You are so talented! Love your blog and photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

