An Adventure A Day

Because "life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" – Helen Keller

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.”
―Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

“Dwell on the beauty of life. Watch the stars, and see yourself running with them.”
― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations   

I find that these two quotes really distill the essence of what it means to be Optimistic: every moment passes, and it is up to you to seek the best of it.

This week, WordPress challenges us to take a look at the concept of Optimism. What is it that keeps us holding on when the days seem especially dark? When the stresses of life begin to weigh us down?

Between frequent moves, adjusting to new cultures, helping my family adjust to new cultures, and the business of everyday life, I sometimes find myself getting bogged down in the details. I begin to feel less effective, less able to find the good in a situation. When I begin to feel a little less optimistic than usual I know it’s time to change my routine. I’ve found that the best way to do that is a change of scenery. Whether that’s a day trip, an overnight escape or a walk in the woods, doing something different, trying something new always restores my outlook on life.

Here are a few of the places and events that leave me feeling most optimistic about life. Places that recharge my soul when I am in need of a boost.

The Woods – where I can lose myself amid the silence of the trees and leave what troubles me behind.

The Water – where the continuous movement reminds me of the inevitable and continuous passing of time.

The Mountains – where I can gain perspective, and remember how very small my troubles are in the great big world.

The Museums – where I can immerse myself in someone else’s visions of the world, reminding me that there is always another way to look at things.

Where do you regain your sense of optimism?

Head over to the Daily Post to find more examples of Optimistic

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Photo: Optimistic

  1. f-stop mama says:

    Love this post for the WPC. It is easy to find ourselves overwhelmed or in a rut. A change of scenery or a change in our thinking is just what we need. Great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I agree, a change of scenery and a new point of view can do wonders for you. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

