An Adventure A Day

Because "life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" – Helen Keller

Solitude

February 7, 2017


“I would rather sit on a pumpkin, and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion.”

― Henry David Thoreau

 

 

Much like Thoreau, I crave moments of solitude. I look forward to the times I can spend alone with my thoughts observing my surroundings. Rather than feeling lonely, this periods of solitude leave my soul refreshed. I find this especially true living in Rome, where it can be difficult to find a moment of calm and quiet amid the daily cacophony and frenzied pace of life you find in a city.

Outside of the city, it is easy to find a quiet place. A silent path in the woods, an early morning walk through the empty streets of a small town, a fragrant garden all provide a place of solitude.

 

 

Within Rome, there are pockets of stillness, although sometimes you have to look a little harder to find them.

“I am a product of long corridors, empty sunlit rooms, upstairs indoor silences, attics explored in solitude, distant noises of gurgling cisterns and pipes, and the noise of wind under the tiles. Also, of endless books.”

― C.S. Lewis

Visit the Daily Post for more examples of Solitude.

 

16 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. Well done for finding solitude in Rome. Your photos are very atmospheric.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 😊 I’m becoming better at finding quiet corners in the big city the longer I live here. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I read a book once called the desert in the city- it was written by a monk who worked in a busy city but he could go within himself to meditate and pray wherever he was. A great skill which I haven’t mastered yet!

        Like

      2. Interesting! I would love to have that skill, I could definitely use it. 😉

        Like

  2. juju says:

    I enjoy reading your stories and love the photos depicting life overseas. Just beautiful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much – you are too kind! 😊

      Like

  3. jmordars says:

    Great take on solitude, love the Thoreau quote

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy Pantone says:

    I love the quote by Thoreau, pretty much sums me up. Also love your photos & your ability to find solitude in Rome. Solitude can be found if you look hard enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I agree, while sometimes difficult to find, it is always possible to find a quiet place – even in Rome! 😉

      Like

  5. Lovely photos. The Thoreau quote is one of many that I copied down while reading Walden….so much truth! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Search beautiful serene places, truly amazing! Love the quote by the way lol☺

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure!☺☺

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

